‘Not Forgotten Lady’

front-row-left-hand

`Not Forgotten Lady’

We first met in 1944, when I was twenty years old.

She was much younger than I, but I took, to her on first sight.

There was no reaction from her, but then I didn’t expect there would: be.

The relationship, as far as she was concerned, was of a working nature,

As long as I carried out my part of the bargain to the best of my ability I would hear no complaint from her.

Her function was to carry out the purpose for which she and I had been engaged

And in doing just that, we would get along fine together.

We didn’t spend all our time in each other’s company,

I often went out with my pals

Whilst she was occasionally taken out by someone else.

This arrangement in no way affected the close relationship which was forged between us.

I was with her on the eve of my twenty-first birthday and we didn’t get back home ‘til early next morning.

There were times when our partnership hit a rough patch and if it had not been for her tenacity, all my efforts might have been to no avail

The relationship lasted for just over four months, when I was obliged to move on

She passed into partnership with one of my colleagues after I left.

It is now over forty-seven years since we severed our relationship, but I shall never forget her as long as I live.

Farewell- LK809, ‘H-How’ Halifax Mk.III

– ‘One of the very best!’

Ken W Marshall DFC (1991)

halifax-ken-marshall

Laisser un commentaire

