Ray Griffith flew 35 missions in a B-17 over Germany

L’histoire d’un aviateur américain.

Ceci en dit long…

By his 30th mission the flights were almost unbearable. The last five he flew over Germany, in the spring of 1945, were the most tense.

“Anybody that says they weren’t scared in a situation like this, there’s something wrong with them,” Griffith observed. “I was scared every time we flew.

“I never prayed to be saved. I prayed that if it was my time, I’d die quickly.”

War Tales

After his first mission over Germany as a navigator aboard a B-17 bomber during World War II, 1st Lt. Ray Griffith of Lake Suzy wrote in a pocket notebook he carried during the war: ‘I’m not going to survive my tour.' »

View original post 2 396 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

