Gardening?

Ça m’a pris longtemps avant de comprendre ce terme, puis j’ai trouvé ce site. On expliquait en quoi consistait ces missions de « jardinage »…

mine-trolley

28-to-38

Les îles de la Frise sont numérotées 33a, 33b et 33c

mine-diagram

Le Wellington III de Jean-Paul Michaud pouvait en transporter deux.

Un Wellington III ça ressemble à ça.

Wellington KW-E

Belle machine de guerre…

Plutôt un cercueil volant selon ses équipages.

Sur le site de la RAF…

Wellington

The Wellington was popular with its five man crews particularly because of it’s ability to absorb considerable damage and continue flying, thanks to an unusual ‘honey-comb’ metal construction which was immensely strong but light-weight. A largely successful twin-engine bomber it flew early daylight raids at the beginning of the war but proved easy prey for German fighters. The RAF learnt the hard way that no bomber could defend itself in daylight against modern fighters and the Wellington was transferred to night bombing.

Je me demande qui je devrais croire…

Le site des vétérans sans doute…

Cliquez svp.

Sur la version anglaise on ajoute ceci…

Son of Alban and Edna Laflamme, of Ottawa, Ontario.

Camille Laflamme, who joined the RCAF in May 1941, was one of the crew of five – pilot, flight engineer, navigator/ bomb aimer, and front and rear gunners – in a two-motor Wellington bomber; he held the position of navigator/bomber. Returning from their fourth bombing mission over Germany, while completing their crossing of the English Channel, they were spotted and shot down by a German fighter plane; their plane lacked the evasion capacity and the power to defend itself against the enemy fighters. Camille’s plane made it to England and crashed near South End on Sea, killing all five. The Wellington bombers – nicknamed “flying coffins” – were replaced one or two months later by the four-engine Avro Lancaster bombers with a crew of seven: pilot, flight engineer, navigator, wireless operator, bomb aimer, and mid and upper gunners.

Camille’s father, after Camille’s death, went to see Air Marshall Bradley, to pull out his other son Jacques Laflamme – Service number R82941 (he had joined the RCAF on February 17 1941) – and transfered him in a passionate posting for twelve months, given that he had the right to do so when a member of the family is killed in action. Camille’s death may have saved Jacques and permitted Jacques to continue his legacy of children and grand-children.

9 réflexions sur “Gardening?

  1. Vos recherches sont tellement fructueuses que j’ai de la difficulté à vous suivre.😉. C’est extraordinaire. Si je comprends bien vous colliger toute l’information sur votre blog sous le nom de Jean-Paul Michaud? Comment puis-je ajouter des choses comme par exemple l’article de la Presse de votre ami. C’est précieux ça. J’ai demandé à une sœur qui possède une boîte de certains articles de guerre de mon père. Je les ajouterais à votre site. D’autres pourraient s’y intéresser peut être ? A suivre. Merci encore infiniment pour cette recherche. Hâte de partager tout ça à mes quatre sœurs. Au plaisir.
    Ginette Michaud

    • Je vais tout vous expliquer sur mon blogue.

      J’ai beaucoup de plaisir à rendre hommage à votre père.
      Ce n’est qu’un début…

Laisser un commentaire

