Is this a good idea?

I have found a lot of information on flight engineer Ronald T. Bailey, Gary’s grandfather. Gary has not replied to my personal message yet.

Is it a good idea to bring back old war memories?

Hi there,

I have recently found out that my grandad was part of bomber command and have been told that he (Ronald Bailey) was a flight engineer based with 425 Sqn in Tholthorpe. I cannot find much information on him but for his 90th birthday this year I would like to make a little presentation and maybe some contact addresses and so on from this part of his life. All I have been able to extract is all the above information and that he lied about his age to join up.

I’d like to mention he is British and not Canadian. Any info would be great. Regards Gary.

I know my wife’s uncle did not want to talk much about the sinking of HMCS Athabaskan.

2 réflexions sur “Is this a good idea?

  1. Hi there, unfortunately for some reason or another I have not received any further emails, so I have put my email on again. I am aware on the sensitivity on matters of this nature especially to individuals involved, so I am aware that people may not think this is a good idea but on the other hand there is a great argument that these memories should be kept alive through generations, with every individual being different I believe that my Grandad would appreciate a gift from me of this nature for his birthday.
    Kind regards
    Gary

Laisser un commentaire

